A plan for the future.

Posted: July 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

I don’t want to call it a “5 year plan” or anything like that. Giving it a time frame just sets it up for some negativity. But that is besides the point.

I have been doing a lot of thinking lately about whats ahead of me. I have never been one for staying put too long. Even in my childhood home, we played musical bedrooms or I was constantly re-arranging. New places seem to inspire and excite me. Do not get me wrong, I absolutely love what I do and who I work with! But I feel down the line I will need a change.

I have always had a dream to either live a year or so on the road and/or on a house boat (traveling). I think it is time to set that plan into motion. I know its not going to be for awhile, but I know its something I feel passionately about. Not to the point that I have expressed it to many people, but that it has always been in the back of my mind. Reading blogs and watching videos of people who have taken the plunge are just getting me inspired!

There are going to be some obstacles of course as with any move or change in direction on one’s life path.

First of all. ME! If you know me, I am not so great with strangers and getting out there and so on… Social anxiety would be the proper term for this. I feel I have come a long way from where I was, but I know that might stop me here or there. I have time to work on this. And at a certain point, necessity could take over and take care of that for me.

Second. BILLS! frickin student loans. and other things that could pop up here or there. But. again, its a long term goal and it will be worked towards. I would have at least a loose game plan for income. Hopefully a small cushion. Worse comes to worse, its an extended vacation and I can always check back into the real world if needed. Although, I don’t want to say it quite like that, as that journey has potential to be more real that anything I have experienced yet. Living on the road has potential to help me save (depending on other factors as well ..) also.

Third. Deciding and Purchasing a set up. I would need a vehicle that has towing capabilities and a trailer. Or a Camper Van or whatever other options there could be. But I just need room for me and maybe a guest if I have any friends tag along. This section has a whole lot of research that needs to be done. Insurance, mechanical, licensing, ability to maneuver on my own. I feel as though maybe before THAT decision, I could take a couple months or a very short trip with just my fuel efficient car and a tent to get a feel for “the road”. But, I still want my car to have SOME trade in value. Or maybe I can just run it to the ground. We shall see. Thats a few years out yet.

Fourth. Safety. This is a big one. Especially if I am out on my own. I feel a few self defense courses and looking into firearm/weapon/mace laws are high on the list since I am a single female by myself. Or a pet. Maybe a big dog, although I am not much of a pet person :/

Fifth. Connectivity with the world. I want to be able to do my photography (in whatever form) so I would need to look into a portable set up and figure out phone/internet/gps etc.

Sixth. STUFF. I has a lot. I am preparing myself to start the process of cutting down on the possessions that I have. After moving, I know there are things I have not seen or thought about in a year, and that should help.

So… those are the big things that need to be faced in the time leading up to this journey. I am in no huge rush to get to the departure point, but the sooner I start, the closer it will be!

Then comes the fun part. Planning (or not planning!) the adventure. Where to go, who to visit, what to do, who’s coming with me etc… On my short (but growing list…) of things that I want to do: Visit the girls that I grew up with for a bit in Virginia (wherever they may be now..). I would love to visit every continental state and if possible, the other ones as well. I would like it to be a photography ‘challenge’ as well. Like, a collection of “Welcome to STATE” road signs or something. I would love to work on a flower farm. I would love to work or volunteer for a theatre company somewhere. I would like to hit up a couple festivals. Burning Man comes to mind. I would like to volunteer for places that are hit with tornadoes or hurricanes, physically doing *work* or after sticks and mortar are put back together, I could donate family portraits. I would love to visit some of our country’s visually stunning landmarks. Redwood Forest. A volcano. The Desert.

I feel like I am pretty set in the idea that I want to do this. Baring only extreme financial difficulties getting this going, the only other thing that could keep me from this is a relationship or having kids. Which… really doesn’t look like that’s in the cards anytime soon and if its not soon, then its not at all. Even then… that might not stop me. Who knows. For now, that is the game plan. It might take doing this, to get to that ‘milestone’ in my life. Either way, I am not worried.

I have no intention of making this a permanent gig, unless it really is THAT amazing. Which it totally could be. I want to think of it as Traveling and experiencing everything I can, while I can (otherwise known as LIVING!) and potentially window shopping for a permanent setup for down the line. I don’t know if I want to stay in the Midwest forever. Yes, being close to friends and family is great but I am still talking waaaaay down the line. So, don’t get upset about it yet. I still love you all!

And so … concludes the first installment of what I hope to be a great adventure.

Thanks for taking the time to read! Please share your thoughts!

Comments
  1. meghan says:

    lots to think about! makes me nervous to think of you traveling alone but what an adventure it would be! tins of places have wi-fi now so i dont think communication would be an issue….who would have thought i would be the one wanting to move home-ish and you be the one to travel (mostly because i know how shy and timid you can be but you have come very far!!) but it sounds cool hope it all works out for you glad you have a vision i on the other hand am still not clear! interested to see how it all works out!

  2. Mary Kaup says:

    I think your dream/vision sounds so much like you. You are a very talented and gifted woman and have a lot to offer to this world. I hope your dream comes true. You might consider looking into Americorp. Leslie worked for them for 2 years and got her student loans paid off and learned how to build a house and so much more. They have a lot of different venues that might just fit in with your vision for awhile. Let me know if I can help in any way! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

